sand-dune-parangkusumo-21

'Desert' of South East Asia

Impossible? Ridiculous? I absolutely could not believe my ears when I first heard about it. Yeah, I had never known that a place like a ‘Sahara’ desert could even exist in humid, tropical condition of the Malay Archipelago region. Well, there is such a place indeed, and it is located in Java.

When I was planning a trip to the ‘Golden Triangle’ of Java, Bandung-Jogya-Surabaya, I had never came across any info, articles or even photos related to this phenomenal site. It was only when I was browsing for some brochures at a travel kiosk in downtown Jogya when I happened to see a brief write-up of this sand dune site. I then made up my mind to go and  check-out the place on the very next day!

 

The dreamy little 'oasis' of Parangkusumo

The dreamy little 'oasis' of Parangkusumo

I took a trishaw from my bungalow-hotel and went to the Umbulharjo Bus Station. Actually the bus station was located quite a distance from where I was staying, but the trishaw rider seemed to know short-cut routes  which took us through some residential areas. He eventually didn’t even take the trishaw on to the main road at all!  But then again, it must had been a very tiring trip for him for that day… God bless him!

 

 

 

Soul searching under the sizzling sunset

Soul searching under the sizzling sunset

The bus I took was destined to go to Parangtritis, the most popular beach in Jogya area. A beautiful beach which is legendarily linked to the mysterious legend of  ‘Queen of South’,  the ‘Ratu Kidul’. Together with her confidante, the feared ‘Nyi Roro Kidul’, the ever youthful and beautiful Queen, ‘Ratu Kidul’, reigns over the sea nymphs and spirits of the seas around Java!

sand-dune-beach-jogya-41

The soft, smooth, mobile sand dunes of Parangkusumo

Whoaaaa… and how did I get to know about these fantastic tales? Of course, from my other fellow passengers in the bus! Me, being my usual self, could not help but to strike conversations with those who seated close to me. Lo and behold! These people were so friendly and welcoming that they were more than happy to relay to me interesting stories of Parangtritis, Ratu Kidul and all:)

They even advised me not to put on any green color clothes when I visit the beach. Why? That they did not really tell me. But it was simply enough for me to understand when one of them said its for some sort of showing respects to this mystical site. Luckily, I was not wearing any clothing with any slight hint of green color on that day! But then again, honestly, these people were really very, very sweet…

 

sand-dune-parangkusumo-12

The One & Only Sand Dunes in the Malay Archipelago!

Parangtritis Beach is about 35 km to the south of Jogya.  I didn’t really feel the time passed while I was journeying on that bus because as you would’ve already known by now I was busy being entertained by those stories told by my fellow passengers.

 

Indeed, it was one of them who shouted to the Bus Driver to stop the bus at the entrance of the Parangkusumo Beach.  I was at that time still happily ‘yapping-away’ with some old women talking about the Queen and of her legendary love stories.

Slide & Ride the Dunes of Parangkusumo

Slide & Ride the Dunes!

 

Now, Parangkusumo is actually located on the western section of Parangtritis Beach, about 1 km away from the beach. So, if one travels from Jogya City, one would actually have to pass by this beach (Parangkusumo) before reaching Parangtritis.

 

 

Parangkusumo is believed to be the meeting place of 2 mighty rulers: that of the sea ( Ratu Kidul) and of the land (her spouses-Kings of the majestic Mataram Dynasty). By the time I got down from the bus, I was getting so overtly excited already!

The images one would normally have of beautiful beaches anywhere in the world are somehow almost similar… rocky cliffs, sand hit regularly by rolling waves under a clean blue sky and if one is lucky enough, one can also see some coconut trees swayed gently by cool sea-breeze. Now… not all beaches, however, have a unique ‘look’, and not to mention ‘tales’ behind them. One of the few that does is definitely Parangkusumo Beach!

The 'Labuhan' offering ceremony at Parangkusumo Beach

Upon entering the Parangkusumo Beach, I immediately felt the ‘sacred’ nuances of the place. The smell of the fragrance of flowers and incense filled up the air. Well, it did gave me a bit of  ‘goose-bumps’ in the beginning… and then, I saw it! Right infront of me. The magical and mystical sight of the Parangkusumo Sand Dunes. Breathtaking! Hypnotizing! Mesmerising! Whoa!

sand-dune-parangkusumo-beach-jogya-31

The magical & mystical sand dune of Parangkusumo

 

I had lived in the Middle East for almost 8 years and normally the sight of dunes or desert-like places would not make me shout ‘WHOA!’ anymore. But this…  the one in Parangkusumo… this is really an ‘out-of the world’ experience. It was …hmmm… seemed to be so surreal. Magical. Yeah, of course, mystical too. Well…at least that was how I felt. But I guess I was not that wrong though… because then I came to know that the site has indeed been listed as a ‘World Heritage’ site, as one could read from a signboard placed at the entrance to the beach.

 

Parangtritis Beach is in the background. The 'Nyi Roro Kidul' cave is located not far from here.

Parangtritis Beach is in the background. The 'Nyi Roro Kidul' cave is located not far from here.

Parangkusumo Sand Dunes are actually lumps of sand that are 20m above sea level. This is THE only sand dunes in the South East Asia, or to be more precise, in the Malay Archipelago region.  It is indeed an extraordinarily rare phenomenon in the humid tropical region.

Back to the ‘Ratu Kidul’ story, it is believed that Parangkusumo was where Parembahan Senopati, the 1st legendary ruler of the Javanese Mataram Dynasty received a divine revelation. Here at Parangkusumo he made an agreement with ‘Ratu Kidul’, where the Queen would always protect the Kings of Mataram and its people. In return, the Queen was (and still ‘is’… some peoplewould say!) spiritually married off to EVERY King of the Mataram Dynasty. Whoa! WHOA! WHOA!!!

Many people here believe that the reason Parangkusumo suffered only ONE casualty in the recent earthquake was because of the 'Ratu Kidul's' protection...

 

So, every year, even in this present time, on the 30th day of the Javanese month, called ‘Rejeb’, offerings to the ‘Ratu Kidul’ the Queen of the South Sea are held at Parangkusumo beach. The offerings are cast into the sea in the hope that the Kings and people of Java will have continuous peace and prosperity. Hmmm… I love legends. And the Malay Archipelago region is loaded with exotic, very ‘dreamy’ beautiful places with great legends.

TRULY AWESOME!!!